• About this Blog

    This blog is about me challenging myself to cook my way through the Tony Ferguson cookbooks and stay motivated while I do the Tony Ferguson program. It won't necessarily be about weight loss as I would like to focus more on cooking nice food and sticking to this plan as a whole, rather than obsessing about my weight in public :P

  • Archives

Mustard Pork with Warm Tomato Salad

I often fall into old habits and end up being really bored with eating healthily. What I have learned from doing TF is that healthy food doesn’t need to be boring. There are a lot of great vegetable meals and side dishes that illustrate this, and this meal is another example that seemingly plain servings of meat can be easily made interesting.

The flavouring for the pork only took me a couple of minutes to put together, just mix equal amounts of olive oil, wholegrain mustard and then slightly less crushed garlic and it’s done. I found a lot of the paste came off while cooking but the flavour lingered on the meat. You could probably marinate the meat for longer if you wanted.

The salad was also easy to put together. Once the tomatoes were under the grill all I needed to do was but some onion and put it in a bowl with the spinach. Oh, I forgot about the beans. They needed to be blanched. I have never done this before and although I had an idea of what that entails I had to look it up on the internet to see if I had it right. Turns out I had the first part, but not the second. Blanching is essentially where you put the vegetables in boiling water, cook them for an undisclosed amount of time, and then put them in cold/icy water to halt the cooking process. I just drained the boiling water out and replaced it with cold water, which was good enough.

I liked this meal because it was quick and easy to make but still tasted great, although that does seem to cover a lot of the recipes in the cookbooks…